Fresh / Gusting / Miss Halliwell / Miles Perhower

Miss_Halliwell_FRESH

**WARNING** This blog contains some highly offensive language, as well as various controversial and often disturbing claims. The author takes no responsibility for any trauma suffered by readers. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with our legal team.

Fresh Gusting

“I would compare the music industry to the most rotten, mouldy, stinking piece of cheese you could ever imagine. Part of me wants to break off a chunk and nibble on the perverse flavours, the rest of me wants to seal off the infected area, cover the bastard with cling film, wrap it up an inch thick and dump it in a bin outside. Trouble is, even if I manage to do that, I know I’ll be fishing it out again later.” – MPH

Miles Perhower rsz_mph_work

“Without music to decorate it, time is just a bunch of boring production deadlines or dates by which bills must be paid.”
– Frank Zappa

Miles Perhower 2013

I’ve been toying with the idea of writing some sort of companion piece / production diary for a while now, but something has prevented me from putting pen to paper, or fingers to keyboard, on this subject, throughout the entire construction of what is now looking to be a ‘mini-double album’. There was never going to be a right time to start blabbing on about how great things are sounding, or how much fun it was to be in the studio again, or how much of a nightmare SLASH daymare it can be. No, there could never be a right time for this kind of real-time reflection because I’m editing this turbulent piece at what seems like random intervals. Each month, week and day is so different, I have no idea how I might react in prose. At this point (which is now NOT this point), “Fresh from the Holy Spring” by Miss Halliwell is nearing completion and Miles Perhower’s “Gusting Guests” is, I think, as of yesterday, cooked all the way through.

Bloody hell, I must be out of my mind… or perhaps too much INSIDE my mind? Whichever way you look at it, these are actually two very different records; lovingly placed next to each other and presented as a wonderfully exclusive 2 CD package:

Disc “FRESH” and Disc “GUSTING”.

Get it?

You can GET IT HERE, OK? Sorted.

rsz_img_8394

Suck on that, chin-scratchers! Today is Sunday 15th September, 2013 (and today is Monday 30th September. Shit I’m digging a dangerous hole here. Oh well). I’ve just scoffed some sausages and washed them down with a nice bit of 5.4% IPA reserve. It’s 2pm (10am) and I feel ready to elaborate (and edit). Fuck me! It’s now 2.27pm on Tuesday 22nd October and I’m drinking “Owd Rodger” and smoking a joint… things could get weird…

rsz_img_8422

20130819_191357

We started recording the thing in May; opting to work primarily with the much loved and highly regarded music producer, Gavin Monaghan, at his revered Magic Garden Studio in Wolverhampton. Gavin has built up a stunning array of gear over the years and it’s certainly worth using. The studio is a fantastic place to work. The engineer, Joe Murray, puts in some pretty intense mixing and editing hours, which is always very much appreciated, but it’s also the time when I often find myself drinking cans of cider. Christ knows how people do this sort of thing sober; the pressure is enough to send me nuts, or even more nuts. Still, someone needs to be chained to harsh reality in these situations. Despite this (and for the record), I honestly never miss a trick when I’m doing what I do best. I’m always learning because it’s FUN. I have no fear of revealing my embarrassing weaknesses. I’d rather be crazy, alive, occasionally drunk, high and ravenously hungry for more knowledge than turn myself into a cold, hard machine. I’m sure people sometimes think I’m an idiot, which on rare occasions I suppose I can be, but I assure you, dear friends and strangers, I am switched on, tuned in, and determined to get the job done to the best possible standard. The power and the sorcery never dulls. Aut viam inveniam aut faciam!

But I digress, all we have left to do is one final mixing and overdubbing session at the end of this month and WE ARE (pretty much) THERE. It’s almost time to get the physical package READY… and now, using the cunning skill of ignoring the real-time illusion, I can confirm that all the appropriate mixing is sorted and the design is very nearly complete. That is unless something evil and unpleasant forces me to change my mind throughout the course of today. Are you getting this? I could be about to trip up at the finish line…

rsz_mphstick

I’m not even fucking joking. All this cunting file transfer business, frantic proof checking and the ridiculous self-imposed deadlines are enough to make me headbutt the finish line, on purpose! What in Christ’s Name am I doing?? Is this of genuine cultural interest? Could it be that I’m just torturing myself for the sake of it? Fucking hell, I just don’t know. At least there’s a nice picture of Gavin to look at while I’m typing this wacked-out shit. He first recorded “Miss Halliwell” back in 1994 (they had changed their name to “SHADRACK” by then, if I am to be 100% historically accurate, but still, close enough, eh?), at the original Magic Garden Studio, which was actually located in his garden in those days. This was around the same time that Gav had to be carted away by the men in white suits after reverting to a shockingly primitive state; streaking violently and constantly trying to set fire to everything around him in a fit of uncontrollable hysterics. I was 9 years old at the time. I’m 28 now. I don’t know how old Gavin is but the man has got some great stories to tell and the extent of his experience within the music business is undeniably impressive. Despite the fact that the Garden was relocated to an industrial estate on the highly unglamourous outskirts of Wolverhampton years ago, the magic and the madness survived. Long may it continue to thrive.

20130819_191414

Meanwhile, various other strange forces have been at work (or play); including some blistering collaborations with the ever-engaging and always supportive Allan R Murphy of Birmingham, brain-warping DIY madness with that uncontrollable freak of nature, MPH (aka ME), plus nifty bits and bobs involving the new Miss H signing, Samurl “Piano Dentist” Rodgers and Brierley Hill box room techno-rock-hop remix glory created with the aid of a highly talented bloke named Adam Lee, or “Mista Lee”, as I like to call him now. Throw in some efficient ‘video promo shoots’ and bursts of ‘extreme graphic design’ with my old friend and ex-Miss Halliwell bass player, CN Support, and I think you might be getting a slightly fuller picture of just how much graft has gone into these sacred beasts.

100_6592

100_6576

100_6586

100_6574

Now we just need a van – a big van. I’ve come to terms with the simple fact that if we don’t have our own transport then the dream is buggered, or at least severely limited. I’ll probably end up driving the thing too, which is something I haven’t done for quite a few years. But if it means we’ll be able to bring our exhilarating tunes to many more strange places, then I’ll be happy to get behind the wheel again. Unfortunately, this will mean sobriety, but I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

Sorcerer

It is not an exaggeration to say that I have a bad habit of getting ahead of myself. There are many reasons for this, but I am ultimately responsible for my actions, so feel free to view me as complete tit head. Personally, I think the blame lies with my destructive TRUTH obsession, coupled with a life bordering on outright fantasy. The slow and ugly descent into the world of words has probably contributed to my downfall more than anything else. But yet, here I am, typing away on this filthy old keyboard; spinning a terrifying web of doom-ridden ecstasy, flawed master plans, loving tributes, self-aggrandisement and paranoid ravings. In all honesty, I enjoy writing, but I sense a change in my approach is on the horizon. Perhaps a separation is needed? Make music, but don’t write about it. Write, but don’t write about music. Yes, this makes a strange sort of sense. There are plenty of other tasty subjects for me to sink my fangs into, so you are advised to make the most of this final musical love-in piece before I throw myself into a totally different zone.

As a special treat, I thought I would include something unexpected in this bizarre write-up; something from the otherwise disdainful world of… wait for it… Facebook! OH SHIT! Please, GOD, NO!  Calm down, calm down, ladies and gerbils, just sit back, relax, and enjoy the infamous “MPH Circle Jerk Party”…

“16:24
Miles Perhower
Safe gang bangers. This is a little treat MPH group msg to all closely involved (top secret, of course) just to say I’ve had a good couple of listens on CD on our booming stereo to “Fresh from the Holy Spring” (whilst drinking Jim Beam, I must admit) by that wonderful group, Miss Halliwell, and I think it’s the best fucking thing I’ve ever heard (not one to blow my own TRUMPET, as you know). Gavin has done an amazing job, of course, and we still have Allan Murphy and Adam Lee’s stuff to PLAY WITH afterwards. This is just the beginning, kids. But what I have here is an “album” that is so much fun it probably only needs 7 tracks (for the simple purpose of enticing unsuspecting music lovers of all shapes and sizes and creeds, and perhaps even ‘record labels’ and ‘press’ – haha ho ho ho yeah, who fucking knows ehh?) – not to underestimate the other stuff that is still to come from the very talented DIY boys – including myself, of course. I had to send this message to you all because 1. I trust you, 2. You deserve to know a little more than I’ve been letting on, and 3. I might explode if I don’t let off a little bit of manic steam right now. Keep all expectations low, but please harbour a little bit of hope – you never know…
MPH

16:26
Alan Neilson
(thumbs up)

16:30
Allan R Murphy
Good man, glad your happy with, now where’s my f*****g copy lol!

16:30
Scott Hadlington
Huh

16:31
Miles Perhower
haha, funny you should say that bro, I’ve just lashed a few previews together so will get one over to ya soon. Scotty, ya sexy fucker
still got a little work to do on it, perhaps, in with Gav again late September to give it one more day of sheen…no Charlie involved

16:33
James Kennedy
HORN.

16:33
Miles Perhower
remember, keep it hush – but feel the crazed love
hahaha HORNY

16:36
Allan R Murphy
Horn blower? Feel the hot breath

16:37
Ross Hadlington
Al.. you will prolly wank profusely upon listening to it and then spontaneously combust..

16:39
Allan R Murphy
My love length is buzzing already Ross, spank my plank!

16:39
Fiona Hodgson
Oh my God.

16:43
James Kennedy
Indeed. This is the news I need. I am fragile after a very bloody trip to the dentist and am wandering around Morrison’s Five Ways in a state of wonderment and confusion. Nearly threw a strop at a mother smoking in front of her twins in their pushchair. Luckily I’m a nice bloke at heart so that was avoided. Who’s coming to see The Courtesy Group at the Sunday Xpress at the Adam then?

16:44
Miles Perhower
I should think some of us will be there our mate

16:45
Samuel Rodgers
TOP HORN.

16:45
Fiona Hodgson
Going to try and make it, are they on a bit later?

16:45
Ross Hadlington
Fog HORN leg HORN

16:46
James Kennedy
Estimated time half 7 for TCG.

16:46
Scott Hadlington
Sorry at work

16:46
James Kennedy
NEW Miss Halliwell GREAT.

16:46
Fiona Hodgson
Cool, reckon i should be able to get there by then

16:47
James Kennedy
NICE.

16:50
Samuel Rodgers
I should think I can make it Sunday too whoop!
Said more like ‘wup’.

16:52
Scott Hadlington
Horn of gondor

16:53
Jonny Compton
Never a dull moment with miles ay!!bring on the album!!

16:54
Samuel Rodgers
Def a couple of foghorns Ross thanks for reminding me about that.

16:58
Scott Hadlington
Jc u sexy bastard
Not as sexy as miles p though

16:59
Miles Perhower
SO SOLID, CREW. May Christ shine upon you all…

17:00
James Kennedy
Miles P is V sexy.

17:00
Jonny Compton
I think we should change miles’ name to ‘Grand master sexy’

17:00
Allan R Murphy
He’s gorgeous

17:00
Miles Perhower
hahaha
I can’t help it. I basically am SEX

17:02
Jonny Compton
Hahahahahaha

17:02
Ross Hadlington
Coming this Fall…
The Sexorcism of Miles Perhower..

17:03
Allan R Murphy
Ha ha, he saved my soul and enlarged my hole

17:03
James Kennedy
Jesus H Corbett…

17:04
Miles Perhower
“The 2nd Circumcision of Miles P”

17:05
Ross Hadlington
In association with Bullyslap Productions..
And Cumshot Distribution
“A shot in the eye for mainstream music” Daily Sport

17:06
Jonny Compton
Hahahahaha and so it has begun!

17:06
Allan R Murphy
Anyhoo I’m leaving this holy and reverential circle jerking to go and make me tea, Traa fer a bit loike.

17:08
James Kennedy
Well I’m going home, putting some mung beans on, getting changed into my Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci t-shirt, going to the pub, having a whisky mac and then going back and turning those mung beans into a casserole MOTHER FUCK.

17:08
Miles Perhower
Brilliant. I have a feeling these are future liner notes…

17:14
Ross Hadlington
Bin liner notes

17:24
James Kennedy
You’re Bin Liner!

17:24
Jonny Compton
I hear weird is the new cool!and we r the coolest mother fuckin cunts i no!yeehaaaaaaa

17:29
Gavin Monaghan
The album really is that good

17:29
Jonny Compton
Who’s up for rapein miles?

17:29
James Kennedy
I don’t deny it! Thanks for all your hard work on this Gavin. Top man.

17:32
Ross Hadlington
Jizztastic

17:37
Scott Hadlington
Im up for it

17:38
James Kennedy
GET IN.

17:39
James Kennedy
Here’s to the new sound!

17:39
Jonny Compton
Nice work jk

17:41
James Kennedy
I’m not mucking about tonight. The mung beans are on as well.

17:43
Jonny Compton
Fair fucks to ya!

18:41
James Kennedy
Like I say…I’m not mucking about xxx

18:53
Fiona Hodgson
Good grief. Get a room you dirty Berties.

IMG_0563

19:06
James Kennedy
Homoeroticism is the new black. Especially in today’s repressive climate.

19:09 Tristam Vivian Adams left the conversation.

19:18
Jonny Compton
Looks the bollox 2bf”

…SO THERE YOU HAVE IT! My favourite bit is when Tristam leaves the conversation without even saying anything.

IMG_0567

But let’s get back to serious business now. There’s still a fair bit of stuff to mull over, dear readers, and I hope the verbatim Facefuck conversation hasn’t put you off too much.  At the time of writing (when in Christ’s name is this?), things are a little up-in-the-air, so to speak.

100_6593

100_6594

The autumn (winter??) is suddenly upon us and we’re stuck in a kind of no man’s land. Schedules are tight, money is tight, and these fucking trousers are tight. But have no fear, we shall prevail. I’m lucky in so many ways to be FREE, but at the same time, I can’t help putting this ridiculous pressure on myself. Don’t get me wrong, in addition to running the most interesting band on the planet, I do have other serious responsibilities (and not all of them are non-musical), but I’m not going to go into any detail about them here. There will be a time for that. Besides, I’ve just recovered from a King Shitter of a headache and I’m in danger of going crazy with paranoia if I don’t lighten up ASAP.

100_6568

100_6579

Before I let loose and catapult myself into some kind of skewiffed and shamelessly celebratory track by track analysis of the release, I’d like to address some of the ‘key issues’ brought up in my previous writings from the last 18 months or so, as well as pay homage to some of the characters who have played a huge role in regards to my ‘progress’ during this sporadically eventful period…

IMG_0572

IMG_0561

First and foremost I think I need to single out Miss Sarah Fleming (aka Rose of Bearwood) because without her none of this would be possible. Despite being one of the most vicious drunks I have ever known, she is a truly phenomenal woman; a beautiful, intelligent entity, loaded with attitude and almost unclassifiable in terms of her own personal taste in music. She IS Miss Halliwell, for Miss H is, to a certain extent, inherited directly from her family line. It is in her blood. I just came along and gave the crazy little bitch that extra big something… the magic ingredient, if you like. I’m being facetious, of course. I love her more than anything in the world and she gives more to me than anyone. DO NOT MESS WITH THIS LADY.

There are numerous other individuals who have seriously pulled their weight where Miss Halliwell is concerned. The group: Fibass, Roscoe Balaban, and now Samurl “Piano Dentist”, have come together like a nice sticky dream this year and I have high hopes for 2014. As you can see from the photos and ‘Circle Jerk’ above, there are quite a few others who, at the very least, BELIEVE in this thing, and I thank them for that (especially Alan Neilson who, amongst other things, has kept our older releases on iTunes). A special shout must go out to the wonderfully idiosyncratic and always enthusiastic local writer, James Kennedy, who has been a real help during some very difficult times. Earlier in the year, Jim booked Miss Halliwell to play at the consistently fascinating (and often hilarious) Sunday Xpress, at Digbeth’s Adam and Eve pub. Now, around five months later, the Xpress is healthier than ever and will be hosting Miss Halliwell’s first gig since the release of the new record(s).

Jim co-organises this remarkable monthly event with the legendary Brendan Higgins (more about Bren later). At the very least, both of them have brightened up a fair few Sundays, but they have also provided Birmingham with a platform for one of the most interesting scenes in its recent history. Also, hats off to Daron Billings of the diverse music review blog, The Hearing AidThese are the people who are brave enough to shed a little bit of spotlight on something that isn’t complete utter shite… uh oh, here comes the headache again… a warning not to mess with the Obdurate Partisans…

rsz_img_8439

I won’t drag this out too much more, but reading back through “Automatic Update” and the rest of this ‘blog’, I can see that I’m quite obviously insane. The sense of injustice is fairly, bloodily, excruciatingly apparent and I’m not 100% sure I should have written some of those things, but I’m 99% sure I was right to. It boils down to this: just because I’m an overly ambitious egomaniac who sometimes flies off the handle, don’t assume that I’m unwilling to play the game a little bit. I’ve got a shit-load to offer and it’s about time I got the opportunity to reach a wider audience with some of this stuff. If it dies a pathetic death then it will be a huge loss, SO TAKE FUCKING NOTICE, YOU SILLY, SILLY CUNTS! Only the most rampant freaks in the world can get away with being called Miss Halliwell. Fuck PEACE, they are NOTHING compared to us. I am Miss H’s BF – Brian Ferguson. It’s time to start bloody winning again!

rsz_come_on_then

Right then, now that nasty business is out of the way, here’s my track by track walk-through of “Fresh from the Holy Spring” and “Gusting Guests”.

*We will be selling nicely packaged copies of this double-disc release at The Adam & Eve, Digbeth, as part of the Sunday Xpress Miss H headline gig on 24th November, as well as at any future shows that come to fruition. It may take a little time, but we will be performing live regularly again soon. The Xpress gig is billed as an ‘Album Launch’, whereas in reality (or should that be virtual reality?) you can already buy yourself (or a friend, or a relative, or a pet) a copy HERE. Xmas is just around the corner, you know? This would be a wonderful gift for all the family to enjoy together… Chuck the Nat King Cole in the bin and whack Fresh Gusting on full blast instead – perfect. 

rsz_sunday_xpress_miss_halliwell_24th_nov_flyer_poster2

*iTunes? Maybe, eventually…in some form, perhaps, I really don’t know. It depends on the future demand for Miss H and myself (which is, at present, similar to the demand for gooseberry flavoured ice-cream). Ideally I’d like to control the digital version in the same way I plan on controlling the physical, via my own website. It’s straight-forward enough to do, on a fairly small scale, but consumers are so used to iTunes now it’s always going to be tougher getting them to use an unfamiliar purchasing platform. I can’t be that arsed with Bandcamp, Lastfm and ReverbNation etc, even though I’ve used them and found them to be decent enough in the past, I can’t help feeling like I’m quite detached from all that stuff. I suppose I would rather be totally separate and as independent as possible than have to share the same miserable, energy sapping platforms as every other wannabe. It doesn’t exactly fill me with joy when I receive utterly pathetic royalties, which can sometimes be as disgraceful as $0.01 per “stream”. At least I have the PRS to fall back on. They will pay me £5 per gig! WOW! Shame it cost £60 to sign up for it… Har har har. But let’s take things one step at a time, shall we? Despite the hyperactive, overexcited yet cynical tone of this piece of twisted self-analysis, I have my feet strangely on the ground. I’ve never been afraid of doing a bit of guerilla marketing, especially when using the internet. You have to get The Stats moving somehow, even if that means upsetting a fair few snide geeks. I’m probably finished with all that now though, the same as I’m finished with trying to keep a log of all the output. Deep down I’m just happy to still be doing it, whatever IT is. I still have ambition, but my expectations are at an all time low. However, if you do buy a copy from us at some point, rest assured it will be the most fun you’ve had with an album (or whatever you want to call it) in a long time. I mean, holy nostalgia, 2 CDs full of sweet ear and brain juice – and there’s more where that came from!

http://www.perhower.com

——————————————————————————————————————————–

So, let’s have a go at giving a small description of each track without hitting you with too many spoilers, eh?

I’ll do “Fresh” first and then work my way through “Gusting”.

1. “Gentlears”

Groovy riffs, playful biffs and friendly tiffs; yet at the same time this monster two-parter is laced with a cacophony of meaty low-end-centric sounds, a machine-like sax sample and some ballsy lyrics from my man, Matty Massive Bollocks. Hypnotic, minimalistic, layered and packed with venom and guts. Maybe it’s not an obvious opener, but, oh my word, I’m convinced it was the right decision to stick the fucker at the top. The water is nice and warm, but still, throw the poor sods in at the deep end and hope they can swim! Earplugs will not be needed.

2. “Rulerfueller”

We made a video for this. It certainly feels like a traditional ‘single’ – employing the classic verse / chorus style structure… but I think there’s more to it than that. I’m proud of the way we did such a tight take in the studio, but I’m also pleased to have written a song that attempts to be positive, or at the very least fleetingly optimistic, whilst acknowledging the relentless negatives. It’s a fairly dark yet strangely feel-good tune, with some pretty slick breakdown licks at the end. Whatever happens as a result of the video and the record itself, “Rulerfueller” proves, at least to myself, that I can still write a decent pop song.

3. “Fresh from the Holy Spring”

Ah, yes, the title track. Not sure how we’re gonna do this one live… I suppose I could just… no… no… that would be too much of a piss take.

4. “Favourite Guitar”

Piano is the future! Har har har… The first (and only) straight up rock / punk tune on the list. Crank the bastard up loud and I guarantee that you will start jumping around the room like a crazy air guitar geek. There are some great dynamics on show here and I’m a fan of the rapid tempo. Young Samurl’s intermittent synth keys make all the difference too. We nailed it, to be fair. KABOOM!

Sometimes I can’t tell whether I’m joking or being serious. Is this a cause for concern?

5. “Naturl Obbit @”

Big, chunky, cheesy and hypnotic. This will probably divide opinion because of the risky combination of weirdness and simplicity; grunge-surf-prog-space-rock, anyone? Whatever the hell it is, it feels like a huge journey to me. If you can get from beginning to end you will be thoroughly satisfied. Uniform Resource Locator… it’s worth noting that the vocal harmonies between myself and Roscoe near the end actually sound quite beautiful, which is an achievement in itself.

6. “Squeamish Knight”

Addictive, heavy POP, with a surreal medieval theme… There’s a tense yet manic edge cutting right through the track, creating this earthquake effect, but it never breaks the flow at all. The thumping drums and bass play off each other quite exquisitely and then explode with guitars at the appropriate moments. We hadn’t recorded at Magic Garden for 5 years, then we just turned up and did a vicious take of this ditty. The Holy Spring got off to a flying start with Squeamish. It’s hard to believe it was done back in May, it seems like last week. Nice to hear Rose of Bearwood doing her uncredited recorder blows too. It had to be done. Very Syd, I know.

7. “Ponytail Quest”

Are you ready to embark upon the Ponytail Quest? Witness the dramatic meltdown and eventual victory of Dean Farook. Feel the power and the glory…

******************************************

I must interrupt this admittedly therapeutic masturbation and inform you, dear friend, that it’s really not all milk, honey and roses at the moment. In fact, I would go as far as admitting that I am becoming very, very ill. ILL IN THE MIND… and almost DEAD IN THE SOUL. Everything I look at… everything I read or hear just feels like… oh fuck, how can I put this?… LIKE A BIG FAT FILTHY STINKING LIE!!! Maybe I should neck some vodka and go for a naked sprint around the block? No, NO! I’m currently trying to avoid these wonderful vices for some stupid (or possibly perfectly logical) reason. I’m too real for showbiz and too crazy for everyday life. OK? OK! Reality check OVER! I’ll pull through… I think… I think too clearly… I’m a mess… My mind is blown… GUSTING GUESTS… It’s a right pain in the arse being a more entertaining writer than all of the music journalists in the world COMBINED… OH WELL… I’ll just have to deal with it… Warts N all… Keep it pure… Volatile yet controlled frequencies… 1st batch… Move on… Don’t let the scenester ghosts haunt… There will be no more pathetic attempts to infiltrate… Their world stinks of shit…

****************************************** 

I’ve been subconsciously and self-consciously working on this strangely attractive sculpture for quite a while now. It has only just recently found its final form and I’m pleased to be able to step back and really appreciate the odd beauty of the thing. Although we originally saw it as some sort of weirdo companion piece, or BONUS DISC, if you want to put it rather more crudely, what we have now is something that very much holds its own despite being a fairly challenging listen at times. Instead of a mere add-on, I think “Gusting Guests” has become vital to the release because it provides a disturbingly raw representation of the other, seemingly darker side of the brain / seasons… Enjoy or Endure or Both, for Shure. GESTALT.

1. “Perfidious Unholy”

You can’t trust this tune. It started life as a strictly conventional (yet ever so slightly sarcastic) song, but then, in a stoned-drunk frenzy, I decided to work with Adam Lee, with Samurl in tow, and we turned it into one of the most gripping things I’ve ever heard. It was recorded as a sort of remix – and then I remixed the remix. I’m pretty chuffed with what came out the other end.

2. “The Art of Shutting Up”

Betta git redy 2 git wit tha riddum. Minds could, and should, be blown here. Me and Allan pulled the fucker together BIG TIME. I can’t really describe how this sounds without spoiling the surprise. All I will say is MASTER!!! Dig the perc.

3. “Pity About the Ditty”

Thank you to whatever force or factors led me to record and keep this raw version. If “Fresh from the Holy Spring” represents some kind of palingenesis, then “Gusting Guests” is what happens afterwards; unpredictable mutations, different paths and strange diversions. It feels like the end of the summer and into the autumn. Sounds clichéd, I suppose, but it’s hard to see it any other way.

4. “Build me a Fib (Palimpsest)”

If in doubt, build it from the ground up! That’s what I had to do, and it paid off. There are still remnants of the original mix floating around, i.e. PALIMPSEST: something reused or altered but still bearing visible traces of its earlier form.

5. “Fearguard”

Born out of a hazy few days at the beginning of the summer, “Fearguard” commands respect. Despite its low-end heavy, distant DIY production, it has a gentle, reflective, possibly melancholic side, which doesn’t quite leave the atmosphere of the track, even when the tempo shifts up about 5 gears near the end. There’s also a pretty swanky remix version knocking about…

6. “Cauliflower Ears”

Another personal favourite. By far the weirdest track on the entire release, it will not be to everyone’s taste, but there is a purity to it; an admittedly alien, schizophrenic purity (if there is such a thing), but yes, VERY STRANGE STUFF! I also think it’s quite pretty. So there!

7. “GRF”

Ross has described this as “the best low-fi glam-rock tune ever recorded on Jupiter’s Ganymede by mutant Black Country humanoid scorpions” and I’m inclined to agree with him.

8. “What are You?”

I said I’d get to Brendan Higgins later, well, it’s later now, so let’s have a bit of Bren time. He is one hell of a pure poet, but he’s also a fantastic writer, an eerily captivating performer and a wonderfully eclectic collaborator. “What are You?” features an opening bombardment of Bren’s infamous diction. Only certain (and notably hilarious) words and phrases are coherently audible, but the innate jazz rhythm of his double-delivery breeds with the improvised music so effectively, a strangely gorgeous two-headed monster baby grows out of every listen. Once Brendan has said his piece, the rest of the track takes us on a mind-bending journey; tearing through soundscapes with spiky samples, drenched in ambient dream accidents…

9. “Juggle World”

And so, after all that, we arrive at the final (listed) track. Ultra-weird, happy-alive, poly-pop, DIY-jazz, doom-death? I’m feeling quite knackered now, ladies and gents, so you’ll just have to take my bitter-sweet word(s) for it until you hear the thing for yourselves. It is becoming increasingly difficult to tell whether this is truly the start of a fascinating new era. Perhaps it is really nothing more than the final creative blow-out in what could be perceived as a wholly inappropriate career?

rsz_1rsz_p1040324

Only time will tell.

MPH

rsz_fresh_ring_end

(Thanks to Scotty, Samurl, Fibass and Rose for the photos.)

About Miles Perhower

Miles Perhower (aka Matthew Philip Hale, born 23rd August 1985) is a contemporary English bandleader, composer, producer, writer / lyricist and visual artist. After many turbulent years of stubborn DIY graft with a band called Miss Halliwell, MPH continues on his deranged musical mission with an outfit known as The Day Ends...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.